1044 Canada Year Book 1976-77

Newfoundland. On July 16, 1976, the CNR bus service was exempted by the Governor in Council from the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Transport Act (RSC 1970, c.M-14), and came under the jurisdiction of the Motor Vehicle Transport Committee of the Canadian Transport Commission, pursuant to Part III of the National Transportation Act. In all other cases, regulatory control over extra-provincial motor vehicle undertakings is exercised by provincial highway transport boards, acting as agents of the federal government, as provided for in the Motor Vehicle Transport Act. In addition, the commission is responsible for undertaking studies and research into the economic aspects of all modes of transport within, into or from Canada.

Five committees perform the commission's regulatory duties under the act: the Railway Transport Committee, the Air Transport Committee, the Water Transport Committee, the Motor Vehicle Transport Committee, and the Commodity Pipeline Transport Committee.

The commission consists of not more than 17 members, of whom one is president and two are vicepresidents, appointed by the Governor in Council for a maximum of 10 years; it reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Wheat Board. The board was incorporated in 1935 under the Canadian Wheat Board Act (RSC 1970, c.C-12) to market, in an orderly manner, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor in Council, the board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat but, since August 1, 1949, it may also buy oats and barley if authorized to do so by regulation approved by the Governor in Council. Only grain produced in the designated area, which includes Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and parts of British Columbia is purchased by the board, which controls the delivery of grain into elevators and railway cars in that area as well as the interprovincial movement for export of wheat, oats and barley generally. The board reports to Parliament through a designated minister, at present the Minister of Transport.

Cape Breton Development Corporation. This corporation was created by an act of Parliament, assented to on July 7, 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-13) and came into existence by proclamation on October 1, 1967, as a proprietary Crown corporation. The corporation was established to rationalize the coal industry of Cape Breton Island and to broaden the base of the area's economy by assisting the financing and development of industry to provide employment outside the coal mines.

The Cape Breton Development Corporation acquired the former interests of the major coal producer in the Sydney coalfield and is now operating three mines, two of which are new, together with a modern coal preparation plant and other ancillaries. It is active in development of the tourist industry as well as primary products and various secondary industries.

The act provides for a board of directors, comprising a chairman, a president and five other directors. Head office is located in Sydney, NS. The corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion. Its operations are financed by the Government of Canada.

Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation. This Crown agency was incorporated by an act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c.46) in December 1945 to administer the National Housing Act. Under the National Housing 1954 Act (RSC 1970, c.C-16), the corporation insures mortgage loans made by approved lenders for new and existing housing and makes direct loans in resource communities and rural areas; guarantees home improvement loans made by banks; undertakes subsidized rental housing projects and land assembly developments under federal-provincial arrangements; offers loans and subsidies for public housing project; makes loans for land assembly projects to be used for general residential development; makes loans to individuals or organizations for low-rental housing projects; makes loans to provinces and municipalities with provincial concurrence, for sewage and water treatment projects designed to eliminate water and soil pollution; makes contributions and loans to provinces and municipalities for urban renewal operations; conducts housing research; encourages urban planning; and owns and manages rental housing units including those built for war workers and veterans. The corporation arranges for and supervises construction of housing projects on behalf of other government departments and agencies. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of State for Urban Affairs. The national office of the corporation is located in Ottawa with branch offices in all major urban areas.

Columbia River Treaty Permanent Engineering Board. The Permanent Engineering Board, consisting of two Canadians and two Americans, was established under Article XV of the 1964 Columbia River Treaty between Canada and the United States. The board assembles records and inspects and reports at least annually on matters within the scope of the treaty. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Commissioner of Official Languages. Appointed by Parliament pursuant to the Official Languages Act (RSC 1970, c.O-2), the commissioner holds office for a term of seven years, renewable until age 65. He is responsible to Parliament for ensuring recognition of the equal status of French and English as Canada's